“Music + Books = Mediocre Tag” Tag

Warning!!!!!! Contains minor spoilers for A Court of Mist and Fury, Hush Hush, Reason to Breathe, Every Last Breath, and Splintered

Hey guys, its MLC and CEB here today! So as you can tell by the title we are doing another tag, but this one is different! We have created our own tag! Now, we think this tag is our own original work, but if it isn’t credit goes to who ever made this and we apologize to whoever originally created this! So we are going to start out with the rules…

  1. Mention the creator(us)
  2. Mention who ever tagged you
  3. Tag 15 people of your choosing
  4. Tell the rules in your post
  5. Do this….We are going to give you a list of music genres to choose from. You choose 5 genres off the list. You are going to choose 2 songs from each genre and connect it to a book of your choosing and explain why you think that song represents that book. (A different book for each song)

Genres: Country, Pop, Emo, Alternative, Rock, 80s/90s, Dance, classical, Jazz, Comedy, Rap, Hip Hop, and R&B

Country:

So the song I’m choosing is “Make You Miss Me” by Sam Hunt. This song reminds me of The Beautiful Lost by Luanne Rice. The book is about a girl who runs away from home to visit her mother, she’s joined by a boy from the foster house in front of her house. She has depression and suicidal issues and she thinks that everything will get better when she finds her mom. This song just makes me think of leaving, and missing someone. Also for someone reason road trip-like situations makes me think of country music. – MLC

So the song I’m choosing  is “Blown Away” by Carrie Underwood. This song reminds me of “Reason to Breathe” by Rebecca Donovan. This book is about a girl who’s mom was a drug addict and alcoholic so she moved in with her aunt and the aunt is now abusing her because it is supposedly her fault that her mom was addicted to drugs even though it was the fact that she was depressed from her husband dying. This song makes me think of this book because the song is about her dad being an alcoholic because her mom dies.   -CEB

(Honorable Mentions: Song= “She’s Country” by Jason Aldean  Book= Dairy Queen)

Pop:

Song: “Animal” by Maroon 5, this song makes me think of the book “Hush, Hush” By Becca Flitzpatrick. The main guy character (Patch) is kind of a stalker in the book and this song makes me think of someone getting hunted down. This song also sounds like an unhealthy relationship, and some people (in reviews) say Patch was a predator and I can definitely see that. -MLC 

So the song I’m choosing is “Angel with a shotgun” by The Cab. This song makes me think of the book Hush Hush (MLC stole my book) by Becca Fitzpatrick. In this book the main guy originally has a plan to kill the main girl because that is the only way he can become human(he is an fallen angel and can’t feel anything like physically) and he will do anything to become human even if it means killing an innocent girl. This song reminds me of this book because the song is about and Angel fighting in a war and not caring what happens as long they win and in the book they are going through a little mini war so it kinda fits.-CEB

Emo:

Ok I have the perfect song for the perfect book!!!! The song is “I Write Sins Not Tragedies” by Panic! The Disco. The book: A Court Of Mist and Fury. Anyone else remember when Rhys crashed Feyre and Tamlin’s wedding because she was silently begging someone to stop it? Well I do and the music video and the beginning of the song matches this perfectly. Also Brendon Urie is one classy fellow, which matches Rhys so much that I can’t even. I mean just look at this quote from the song, “It’s much better to face these kind of things with a sense of poise and rationality.” Rhysland has only ever been poised except with his close friends and Feyre! Ok I’m done I can be happy now that I’ve made this beautiful connection. -MLC

I have an ok song choice: “The Ballad of Mona Lisa” by Panic! at The Disco. The book is A Court of Mist and Fury. I feel like this song really goes with this book because they are describing Mona Lisa as some they bow down to, they kiss the ground she walks on and after Feyre released them from Amarantha everyone praised her and because she was only human and she still beat her and died because of it. Plus I love Rhysland so I had to mention this book. -CEB

Rock: 

The song is “Wretched and Divine” by Black Veil Brides. This song reminds me of the Arcana Chronicles, more specifically Poison Princess by Kresley Cole. The book is kind of hard for me to describe but it involves an apocalypse and the main character is one of the warriors in it. This song is very apocalyptic and it matches the main character with how she reacts throughout the book. -MLC

So the song I’m choosing is “In The End” by Black Veil Brides. This song reminds me of the book Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I feel like this song really goes with this book because this song is about them not being afraid to die and in this book the only way to get rid of the lilan was for her to kill it, but since the lilan was made from her blood everything that happens to the lilan happens to her so she will die if she kills it. She goes out and kills knowing that she will die. -CEB

Alternative: 

The song is: “Bad At Love” by Halsey. The book is: Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. These match because honestly I feel like Edward is the worst at love. They’re in a teenage romance so I don’t really expect anything else but everyone plays it up to be more than it really is. Though I do have to admit that I liked the books when I was reading them. I mean Edward spent half of the book saying “Stay away from me, I want to eat you literally” and the other half of the book telling her that he “loved” her. I mean way to send mixed signals. – MLC 

I’m choosing the song “Colors” by Halsey. The book is Splintered by A.G. Howard. I think that these match because this book is always talking about the colors of things, so vividly and this song keeps talking about how everything blue. Since she was used to being human she wasn’t used to seeing all of these different things and how beautiful things could be..(In the book they are always talking about how the caterpillar is blue!!!!) -CEB

We nominate:

That comes to the end of our first Tag! I hope you all enjoyed this and have fun doing it. We also tag whoever wants to do this because we love you people! Hope y’all have a great day, we’ll see you in our next post!

9 thoughts on ““Music + Books = Mediocre Tag” Tag

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑